SPIbelt giveaway and Half-Marathon recap

We finished!! As you may have read on here, my sisters and I have been training for the Pittsburgh Half-Marathon, which was held this past Sunday. Going into this race, I was more than just a little nervous, especially since the most I had ever run was probably 4-5 miles. However, after watching Sarah run the full marathon last year I was truly inspired to push myself to the limit and see what my body is capable of.

Sarah, Lucy and I

All smiles after 13.1!

Running a half-marathon has always been on my bucket list, but I was always afraid to commit because I wasn’t 100% sure that I would  stick with the training and be able to finish. Over the past few months, however, my training has taught me several important lessons. 1) Your body gets tougher! At the beginning of my training plan, 3 miles seemed like forever, and then I went through a period where my 5-6 mile runs were killing my legs and then finally…everything started to click. I found myself feeling much stronger and confidant on intermediate length runs and able to push myself through the 10-11 miles runs. This evolution takes time, but it will happen. Trust in the process. 2) Running=confidence! There is something so wonderful about setting out on a 10 mile run and knowing that you won’t be stuck on the side of the road calling your boyfriend to pick you up and take you home (while ordering a pizza on the way). Having faith and being proud of your body is a beautiful thing and it eeks into many other aspects of your life (sticking to that nutrition plan, not crying in dressing room while trying on jeans, etc). 3) Support systems are everywhere! I received so much motivational support from friends and family, whether it was asking about my training, donating to my cause or sending positive vibes my way- it was amazing!

Some wonderful, truly supportive new friends!

Some wonderful, truly supportive new friends!

So…what now? Well, I can honestly say that it will be nice to take a break from 2 hour long Saturday runs for awhile, but I have definitely caught the running bug. I LOVE that because of this, a 3 mile run no longer seems that long and a 6 mile run is actually FUN on a beautiful, sunny day.  I’m starting to look for a fall half to train for, and while my goal for Pittsburgh’s half was to finish…now, I have to improve my time. I’m looking forward to sharing with you some switches in my training and nutrition plan.

At this point you may be saying to yourself, “OK, yeah, yeah that’s great Nikki, but didn’t you mention something about a GIVEAWAY?!?!?!!?”

SPIbelt Giveaway

SPIbelt Giveaway

So, on to the best part! You have all heard me gush about my SPIbelt in previous posts and now I want to offer you the chance to win your very own. These belts have an adjustable waist band and will expand to fit all your equipment (energy gels, kleenex, iphone, keys, etc), while still fitting snug against your body (for reference, you can see mine in the photos above…I was made fun of for wearing it so high-boo)!

In order to qualify for this giveaway, please do the following (if you are already following/liked my FB- then it’s all good):

1) Follow my blog either on Twitter @SciDelish OR by signing up to receive posts by email (Click “Follow” button on the right side of page)

2) “Like” my Facebook page

3) Leave a comment on this post with your favorite workout song

This giveaway will close on May 15, 2013 and the winner will be notified via email so that I can get you shipping info.

Questions? Send me an email or leave a comment. GOOD LUCK!

5 thoughts on “SPIbelt giveaway and Half-Marathon recap

  1. Congrats Nikki! Running is a great lifelong sport; I’m glad you’ve caught the running bug :) B.A.A. Half Marathon in October with me maybe?

    I would work out to this! Heartbeat – Childish Gambino spotify:track:6rvo2EAdn5U47Nn9kWhLpz

  2. I’ve seen SPIBelts at packet pickups at other races and just assumed they didn’t work very well. I’ll have to think about it next time.

    The BAA races are great and are so well-organized! They have their 10K coming up in June; unrelated, there’s an all-woman (and one lucky guy) half in MA too :).

Leave a Reply

