Beverages · Breakfast · Snacks

Boosting your Omega3s in under 30 seconds…using only a spoon

Keeping in theme with this week’s previous post on the benefits of Omega3s in your diet, I thought it might be nice to share a couple of ideas that I have been using lately to increase my Omega3 ratio. They don’t require an oven or even any prep time, which is great for a person on the go.

#1: Adding flaxseed to your yogurt.

I am a huge fan of Greek yogurt. However, I tend to stay away from any kind of flavored yogurt since this adds excess sugar. Instead, I go straight for the plain, full-fat (a girl’s gotta have some fun) greek-style yogurts. On a whim, I picked up Trader Joe’s “Ground flaxseed with blueberries” since I had been looking to incorporate Flax into my diet (a GREAT source of Omega3s) and was intrigued by the combination with freeze-dried blueberries (ANTI-OXIDANTS!). Let me tell you, this stuff is amazing! I recommend adding 1 heaping tablespoon of this stuff to 1/2 cup of full-fat, plain greek yogurt and 1 packet of stevia. I’m telling you, if you close your eyes, it’s almost like enjoying a blueberry cheesecake…you won’t be disappointed.

#2: Add Chia seeds to your Vitamin water (or other preferred liquid)

In addition to Greek yogurt, I have a love affair with Vitamin water ZERO. The primary reason why I like this line of enhanced water is because they use Stevia as a sweetener, which gives it a hint of sweetness, without the chemical undertones. I add 1 tbsp of Chia seeds to a 20 fl.oz. bottle and shake, shake, shake. You will be amazed at how the Chia seeds intensify the flavors of the water you’re drinking. The Chia seeds will also thicken the consistency of the drink over time, creating the allusion of a Taiwanese tapioca-pearl drink.

The goal of this post was to emphasize that it doesn’t have to take a lot of time or effort to maximize the positive affects that a diet can have on proper body function. By adding these quick supplements to your normal diet you not only increase the amount of Omega3s, but also add extra protein and fiber. I hope you enjoy and have a great weekend!

One thought on “Boosting your Omega3s in under 30 seconds…using only a spoon

Leave a Reply

