Entree · Holiday · Paleo

3.14 Taco Pi

Yesterday, I was strongly recommended by my sister to post a pie recipe since today is Pi day!

Taco Pi with a side of salad
Taco Pi with a side of salad

So, last night I did some quick googling “Paleo Pie” and found a ton of recipes for something called Taco Pie. As a kid, tacos were truly my favorite food (I literally had tacos and pumpkin pie for the majority of my birthday dinners), but since turning Paleo, I haven’t really been indulging in Mexican foods as much (although Taco salads and Lettuce wraps are great options!) I am so happy to report that this recipe turned out really well. The flavors are spot on and the crust tastes amazingly similar to a corn sope. As a bonus, this is a pretty quick recipe to throw together, it’s very flexible according to taste preferences and all of the ingredients are likely to already be in your pantry.

Enjoy the rest of Pi day!

Reagents:

For crust:

  • 2 cups almond flour
  • 1/2 stick of butter or coconut oil equivalent (I used more than this and as you can see from the pic, it turned out a bit too oily)
  • 2 eggs
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp cayenne

For taco filling:

  • 1 lb ground meat or turkey (I used a combo of both…but you could use chicken as well)
  • 1 onion
  • 1 red pepper
  • olive/coconut oil
  • taco seasoning

For taco seasoning: (THIS TURNED OUT GREAT- HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS!)

  • 1 tbsp chili powder
  • 1/4 tsp garlic powder
  • 1/4 tsp onion powder
  • 1/4 tsp crushed red pepper flakes
  • 1/4 tsp dried oregano
  • 1/2 tsp paprika
  • 1 tsp cumin
  • 1 tsp sea salt
  • 1 tsp black pepper

Protocol:

  • Preheat oven to 350F
  • Combine dry ingredient for crust in small bowl
  • Add eggs, melted butter and stir to combine
  • Press crust into a 9-inch pie pan
  • Bake crust for 20 minutes, should start to appear more golden in color
  • Although a little too buttery, I found this crust very flavorful and will definitely use this recipe again!
    Although a little too buttery, I found this crust very flavorful and will definitely use this recipe again with the change listed!
  • While crust is baking, sauté onions and red pepper in olive oil*
  • As the onions start to wilt, add in the meat
  • Combine the spices for the taco seasoning in a small bowl, mix well
  • Add spices to meat and veggie mix, stir
  • Add 2 tbsp water to mix to make a sort of sauce
  • Cook until till meat is full browned and cooked through
  • Add meat mixture to crust

Meat Pi!

Meat Pi!
  • Place back in oven and cook for an additional 15 min
  • Add your fixin’s (lettuce, tomatoes, guacamole, olives, jalapenos…I only had diced tomatoes and we paired this with a romaine salad)
  • Enjoy!

**I meant to add died zucchini to the onion and red pepper mixture, but forgot…I think this would be a great addition, or perhaps some other veg?

Crust held up well!
Crust held up well!

Inspiration from:

http://www.thecavegirldish.com/2012/10/skillet-taco-pie.html

2 thoughts on “3.14 Taco Pi

    1. So glad to hear it! I was surprised as well, and I think the crust would even be good for a fruit crumble, maybe just add a bit of spices and touch of honey. I had leftovers for lunch all week! Thanks for letting me know you tried it out and enjoyed it. 🙂

Leave a Reply

